Ir directamente a la información del producto
1 de 1

King Tubby The Dubmaster* - Presents The Roots Of Dub

Precio habitual $ 650.00 MXN
Precio habitual Precio de oferta $ 650.00 MXN
Oferta Agotado
Impuesto incluido.
Born January 28th 1941, King Tubby is known primarily for his influence on the development of dub in the 1960s. In the 1950s, King Tubby's musical career began with the sound systems, set up on the streets of Kingston and playing dance music for the people. As a radio repairman, Tubby soon became quite helpful at most of the sound systems around. Tubby began working with [a=Arthur "Duke" Reid] in 1968. At [l=Treasure Isle], a studio, Tubby began making remixes of hit songs, usually by simply removing the vocals. In time, Tubby (and others) began shifting the emphasis in the instrumentals, adding sounds and removing others and adding various special effects, like echoes, feedback and filtering. By 1971, Tubby's soundsystem was one of the most popular in Kingston and he decided to open a studio of his own. His remixes soon proved enormously popular, and he became one of the biggest celebrities in Jamaica. During the 1970s, Tubby's work in the studio gave rise to modern dub music. He had a long string of hit songs, and worked as a producer for some of Jamaica's most popular artists, including [a=Lee Perry], [a=Bunny Lee], [a=Augustus Pablo] and [a=Yabby You]. In 1973, he began recording vocals to put along the instrumentals. By the later part of the decade though, King Tubby had mostly retired from music, still occasionally recording remixes and tutoring a new generation of artists, including [a=King Jammy] and [a=Scientist]. In the 1980s, he focused on production for [a=Anthony Red Rose], [a=Sugar Minott] and other popular musicians, for his [l=Firehouse] group of labels. He was shot and killed by unknown persons, probably in a robbery attempt, in 1989, February 06th.

Released: 2006
Label: Clocktower Records
Country: Canada

A1 Natty Dub
A2 Dub Magnificent
A3 A First Class Dub
A4 The Stepping Dub
A5 Rude Boy Dub
A6 A Closer Dub
B1 Roots Of Dub
B2 Dub You Can Feel
B3 Loving Dub
B4 The Immortal Dub
B5 Dread Locks Dub
B6 Rocking Dub